#18626 - 10/31/08 12:16 PM
Copyright Question
|
biGfrend
Malt-o-Meal
Registered: 10/31/08
Posts: 2
|
Offline
|
|
Hello there. New user just here to ask this question. This seemed the most appropriate place to put it. Please move it if needed.
I recently came across this game. http://parker-z.com/RPG/index.php And I became weary when I noticed the copyright. I researched into it and found a quote from the help documents
The game is released as a free program, with some limitations: You may install the game on your server and run it however you wish. You may also modify the program code for your own personal use in any way you see fit. You may not, however, redistribute the program (modified or stock) in any manner. And you may not alter the copyright or powered by notices at the bottom of the game pages in any manner. Short of those few rules, you are given free reign to do what you wish.
I queried the admin on this and he said that he got into contact with the owner of the engine. But I have my doubts. Is the site Legit?
Thanks for your time. Feel free to engage me in PM's if you see fit.
|
|
Top
|
|
|
#18634 - 11/01/08 07:36 AM
Re: Copyright Question
[Re: Fayt]
|
biGfrend
Malt-o-Meal
Registered: 10/31/08
Posts: 2
|
Offline
|
|
Ok, Well as far as I know hes only getting members from one certain forum, which I happen to be a regular of. This is speculation but I think he is going to try and make people pay for the game or content in the game, because at the moment he 'has' another game (A flash one) and hes trying to sell an upgraded account version for it which gives you bonus features, I believe he said somewhere that players to pay for his first game also get to play his other game after beta for it is finished. Doesnt really make sense, but if I get a statement from someone in the moderation team or The creater I could probably send a PM to the moderator of the specific board and have either the thread locked or the post containing the link deleted. How does that sound?
|
|
Top
|
|
|
#18641 - 11/02/08 06:12 PM
Re: Copyright Question
[Re: Fayt]
|
AnmanIndustries
Cookie Crisp
   
Registered: 03/21/05
Posts: 2876
Loc: Planet Stupid, AKA Earth
|
Offline
|
|
If we had an army of script kiddies here Id just sick them on the sites that always come up like this. Jamin has only EVER given permission to remove copyright ONCE. And he will never do it again.
Regardless, when I go to that link I just get: "We are sorry but SB is no more! We had a few player issues and a attempted hacking for now we are making no new projects and we will have SF only! I am sorry for this, But you caused this shadowfran... Thats why this is no more Shadow SF Project Leader!"
So I might as well not give a shit anymore.
|
|
Top
|
|
|
#18647 - 11/03/08 04:44 PM
Re: Copyright Question
[Re: Fayt]
|
AnmanIndustries
Cookie Crisp
   
Registered: 03/21/05
Posts: 2876
Loc: Planet Stupid, AKA Earth
|
Offline
|
|
Now it gives a big NOT FOUND error.
|
|
Top
|
|
|
#18662 - 11/04/08 06:13 PM
Re: Copyright Question
[Re: worshiploud]
|
AnmanIndustries
Cookie Crisp
   
Registered: 03/21/05
Posts: 2876
Loc: Planet Stupid, AKA Earth
|
Offline
|
|
Most people prefer to not give credit, so they usually ensure that ANY details are not changed. In reality, these rules are there just so the creator can get his due credit. As mentioned in the other topic, as long as you are giving Jamin the credit, which you are, then it is sufficient. The rule is there for those people who DO NOT want to give credit.
The Digital Millennium act only applies to US and associated colonies. Therefore, it is pointless on the internet. EG, on my AUSTRALIAN servers.
|
|
Top
|
|
|
|
|